• loading


The American Music Awards, the world’s biggest fan-voted award show, today announced the 2014 American Music Awards nominees. In advance of today’s announcement, recording artists Jason Derulo and Charli XCX rose at the crack of dawn to reveal 5 categories of nominees on ABC’s Good Morning America. (See the full list of American Music Awards nominees).  It was also announced today on GMA that Charli XCX will perform for the first time on the AMAs. The American Music Awards will broadcast live from the NOKIA Theatre L.A. LIVE on SUNDAY NOV 23 8|7c on ABC.

Iggy Azalea leads this year with six nominations. John Legend, Katy Perry and Pharrell Williams follow with five nominations each, while Lorde earns four nominations.  Additionally, Beyoncé, Eminem, Imagine Dragons, OneRepublic and One Direction were nominated for three awards.  Bastille, Drake, Luke Bryan and Sam Smith each receive two nominations.

The Artist of the Year category increases from 5 to 10 nominees in 2014. This year’s nominees are Iggy Azalea, Beyoncé, Luke Bryan, Eminem, Imagine Dragons, John Legend, Lorde, One Direction, Katy Perry and Pharrell Williams. The ten nominees will be narrowed to five based on the votes received through 11/13 and the winner will be determined by the total votes received throughout the entire voting period.

The Single of The Year category, increasing from 3 to 5 nominees in 2014, includes nominees Iggy Azalea Featuring Charli XCX, “Fancy,” John Legend, “All of Me,” MAGIC!, “Rude,” Katy Perry Featuring Juicy J, “Dark Horse” and Pharrell Williams, “Happy.”

As always at the American Music Awards, artists will be honored in the genres of Pop/Rock, Country, Rap/Hip-Hop, Soul/R&B, Alternative Rock, Adult Contemporary, Latin, Contemporary Inspirational, Electronic Dance Music, as well as categories for Top Soundtrack, New Artist of the Year Presented by Kohl’s, Artist of the Year and Single of the Year.

American Music Awards nominees are based on key fan interactions as reflected in Billboard Magazine and on Billboard.com, including album and digital singles sales, radio airplay, streaming and social activity.  These measurements are tracked by Billboard and its data partners, including Nielsen Entertainment and Next Big Sound.

The American Music Awards are voted on by the fans. Winners will be determined through online and Twitter voting.  Beginning on 10/13, for all categories other than New Artist of the Year Presented by Kohl’s, fans can vote once per day at the Coca-Cola AMA voting site, AMAvote.com, as well as once per day via Twitter by including the nominee’s name, category name and #AMAs within a tweet.  

Voting for New Artist of the Year Presented by Kohl's will open on 11/1 and will remain open throughout the first hour of the ABC live broadcast on 11/23, with the winner being announced in the final hour. Fans can vote via AMAVote.com and Twitter.

Preceding the ABC broadcast for the 6th consecutive year will be the Coca-Cola Red Carpet LIVE! @ The 2014 AMAs pre-show. Live coverage will stream online for fans worldwide starting at 5:00 p.m. ET / 2:00 p.m. PT on November 23rd at Yahoo Live, this year’s official digital distributor of the American Music Awards Experience. The live stream can also be watched at TheAMAs.com and ABC.com

The 2014 American Music Awards® are produced by dick clark productions. Allen Shapiro and Mike Mahan are Executive Producers. Larry Klein, Barry Adelman and Mark Bracco are Producers.