How to Vote for American Idol 2018

By Steve Dove | Apr 22nd, 2018

It's time for America's Vote on American Idol 2018! Judges Katy Perry, Lionel Richie, and Luke Bryan have taken the contestants all the way from auditions across the United States of America through Hollywood Week and the Top 24 round to get to the Top 14 and finally, the Top 10. Now it's time for you, America, to help your favorites make it even farther in the competition by casting your votes. If you're asking, "how do I vote for American Idol," you're in the right place.

When Can I Vote?
Final voting opens SUNDAY MAY 20 8pm ET/7pm CT/5pm PT and closes MONDAY MAY 21 9am ET/8am CT/6am PT. The results will be revealed at the end of the live episode MONDAY MAY 21 9|8c.

Please note that depending on your TV provider, device and/or connection speed, there may be a delay between the live transmission of the show from the studio to your television or device. While voting remains open until during the final commercial break, viewers are encouraged not to wait until the final moments to submit or modify their votes.

During these live coast-to-coast shows, voting takes place while American Idol airs live across the country in all time zones. This means voting only occurs while the show is live in your time zone, which may be earlier than the show's normal time slot. If you want to watch the replay of that night's later that evening, voting will be closed.

So How Do I Vote?
We have three convenient ways for you to keep your favorite contestants singing. You can vote online at AmericanIdol.com/vote, in the American Idol app or via text*. You have to be at least 13 years old and located in the U.S., Puerto Rico or the Virgin Islands to vote on ABC.com or in the American Idol app.

For text message voting, simply text the number of the contestant you would like to vote for to "21523". The number for each contestant is outlined below:

Caleb Lee Hutchinson: text "1" to 21523
Maddie Poppe: text "10" to 21523
Gabby Barrett: text "14" to 21523

*Text voting is open to all Wireless Carriers. Message & data rates may apply. SMS voting terms are available at idolmobileterms.votenow.tv

How Many Times Can I Vote?

Each week, you can submit up to ten (10) votes for each remaining contestant per voting method (online at AmericanIdol.com/vote, in the American Idol app, and via text voting*).  For example, if you want to vote for a given contestant – you could submit: up to ten (10) votes for that contestant on ABC.com, up to ten (10) votes for that contestant on the American Idol app and up to ten (10) votes for that contestant via text message, for a total of up to thirty (30) votes for that contestant across all voting methods that week.

When voting online at AmericanIdol.com/vote or in the American Idol app, you can reallocate your votes until the voting window closes. Just be sure to hit "save" each time you make a change to your votes!

*Text voting is open to all Wireless Carriers. Message & data rates may apply. SMS voting terms are available at idolmobileterms.votenow.tv

For more information on how to vote for American Idol, visit the Vote FAQ.