S2 E03 There Will Be Bot Blood: The Qualifying Round Concludes

06/30/16 | TV-PG | CC

Each match will consist of a three-minute bout in which the goal is to completely destroy or disable the opponent. If there is no knockout during the three-minute battle, the panel of judges will declare a victor to move onto the next round. Judging the matches are former "BattleBots" competitor and special effects artist Fon Davis, the face of "Nerdist," Jessica Chobot, and special guest judge Adam Savage ("MythBusters").

48 builders representing four continents make up this year's field – double the size of last year's tournament. With them they bring an unprecedented arsenal, innovative designs, destructive new weapons and for the first time in the history of robot-fighting tournaments, the launch of drone warfare. The competitors range from NASA engineers to teenage students and everyone in between — each with one goal: to claim the ultimate title and walk away with the Giant Nut. Winners from the 24 matches in the qualifying round automatically advance, after which the selection committee picks eight wildcards from the losers to join them. Once the teams advance out of the qualifying round, it's single elimination all the way to the title.

ESPN's Samantha Ponder hosts season two, with expert play-by-play analysis from veteran sports broadcaster Chris Rose and color commentary from former UFC fighter Kenny Florian. Sideline reporter Alison Haislip covers every inch of the robot fighting mayhem, and ring announcer Faruq Tauheed presides as the bots go metal-a-metal.

The 16 teams slated to compete during the qualifying round are listed in alphabetical order below:

1. Brutus: Team Captain – Adam Bercu
(Hometown: Somerville, MA)

2. Cobalt: Team Captain – Dave Moulds
(Hometown: United Kingdom)

3. Ghost Raptor: Team Captain – Chuck Pitzer
(Hometown: Newark, CA)

4. Lock Jaw: Team Captain – Donald Hutson
(Hometown: San Diego, CA)

5. Mega Tento: Team Captain – Lisa Winter
(Hometown: Orinda, CA)

6. Moebius: Team Captain – Michael "Shaggy" Macht
(Hometown: Beavercreek, OH)

7. Overhaul: Team Captain – Charles Guan
(Hometown: Cambridge, MA)

8. Poison Arrow: Team Captain – Zachary Goff
(Hometown: Houston, TX)

9. Razorback: Team Captain – Zack Bieber
(Hometown: Wellington, CO)

10. Red Devil: Team Captain – Jerome Miles
(Hometown: Spanish Fork, UT)

11. Rotator: Team Captain Victor Soto
(Hometown: Doral, FL)

12. Sawblaze: Team Captain – Jamison Go
(Hometown: Cambridge, MA)

13. Son of Whyachi: Team Captain – Terry Ewert
(Hometown: Dorchester, WI)

14. Witch Doctor: Team Captain – Andrea Suarez
(Hometown: Mirimar, FL)

15. Wrecks: Team Captain – Dan Chatterton
(Hometown: Petaluma, CA)

16. Yeti: Team Captain – Gregory Gibson

Continue Reading